December 17, 2012

  •  

    We Do a Good Job Here, John                                                                                                

    In the summer of 2001 when I was 19 years old I worked as an electrician’s helper at a school being renovated.  Our work was 6am – 2pm and I did a lot of grunt work: setting up outlets/electric boxes, bending pipes, running wire through those pipes, drilling through cement walls, etc.  The work wasn’t easy and often just to get the work done I would do a “good enough” job… the pipes would be bent at just about 90 degrees, the wires weren’t arranged the tidiest but they were run across the ceilings and would work, etc.  But whenever the head electrician would inspect my work, even when it looked “decent,” he would immediately point out every flaw to even the smallest detail and tell me to correct it, and then he would never fail to say, “We do a good job here, John.” (I don’t know why the electricians never got my name right, but one thing you learn as a young, grunt construction worker is that you don’t correct your boss =))

    That phrase, “We do a good job here” stuck with me.  In my immaturity and even laziness I had viewed the job as simply something to be done so that we could get a paycheck.  But the best electricians were always proud of their work and would remember the jobs/places they had a part in establishing.  Their work wasn’t so much about finishing jobs and getting paid, but was really about making places look great and work great.  My motives, along with most of the other young, immature helpers, were selfish and only for my good.  The motives of the best electricians were selfless and for the good of the community. 

    I was blessed yesterday by the message, “The Value of Work” by Alex Lim (www.newphilly.cc –> Media).  It was a strong reminder to me that the work I do really isn’t about me, but is for the common good.  I can’t lose that vision.  I played a role in bringing electricity and light to that school that has been educating kids in that light for 11 years now.  A couple months of paychecks can’t compare to that impact.  And while some of our jobs may seem mundane, each in some way is impacting people.  They are worthy of a greater effort than a purely selfish one. 

    Let’s do a good job while were here on earth!  I know the Lord delights in such a heart…

    Colossians 3:23 – Whatever you do, work heartily, as for the Lord…

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *